The Pardu

14 Year Old Ahmed Mohamed Arrested For Being Brilliant

In 14 year Arabic boy arrested with clock, Ahmed Mohamed, Bigotry and White Privilege", black lives matter, http://schemas.google.com/blogger/2008/kind#post, racism on September 17, 2015 at 1:40 PM


I notice when I post pieces regarding racism and piece related to “#Black Lives Matter” even my Google “Circle” folks do not click and read the pieces. While I am not surprised at the obvious indifference to matters of strife and factual oppression from US authorities in some communities, I will admit to a bit of disenfranchisement from “so-called” progressives who predominantly comprise my Google “Circle.”

Nonetheless, and typical America passes on, the recent example of an innocent and creative mind treated as a bombing suspect in an Irving Texas school should bother some of you. If you are one who hates people of Arabic or Persian decent, even you should see the shame and ridiculousness of the handcuffing and effectual arrest of Ahmed Mohamed.

Ahmed is a teen who loves Robotics and inventing things now has a permanent psychological scar that has a lifelong tattoo labelled; “Racism ,Bigotry and White Privilege.” He has met and experience the ugly face of American racism and we can only hope his experience doesn’t one day led to a embrace of ideology that fosters hatred against the nation.  He experienced life in a nation with denizens who practices disparate treatment of people based on color well before other discriminators.

There isn’t one person among my Google Circles, nor one person across the globe who can convince me the same treatment would have been perpetrated against an industrious white teen. The stark reality of the last sentence is there are millions of whites across the globe who practice the Islamic Faith.



Talking Points Memo

“Used with permission from the TPM websites, a service of TPM Media LLC.”

Hlp54g3qfej03mohf8xf

Ahmed Mohamed — the 14-year-old Muslim student who was arrested Monday for bringing a homemade clock to his suburban Dallas high school, but was not charged — thought his story would go untold. 

“I feel really well after because before I didn’t think I was going to get any support because I’m a Muslim boy,” Ahmed told “All In with Chris Hayes” on Wednesday night. “So I thought I was going to be another victim of injustice.” 

Ahmed said he built the clock and brought it to MacArthur High School because he wanted “to impress them with something simple.” 

But the situation quickly turned into anything but simple. He told host Chris Hayes that the situation reminded of when he was called a terrorist by fellow middle school students. 

“I felt like a criminal, I felt like a terrorist. I felt like all the names I was called,” Ahmed said. “In middle school, I was called a terrorist, called a bomb maker, just because of my race. And my religion.” 

He is Sudanese American.


Read more

End Talking Points Memo


I would be remiss if I did not provide a corollary to the absence of interest in matters of race among many of those who are connected to this page via Google “Circle”. When I post anything about Donald Trump the read numbers are exponentially higher, thus confirming our sad state of reality show celebrity worship. Donald Trump offers nothing to the greater society then his current political circus act. Maybe, we are experiencing Trump on the ultimate Apprentice.

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({}); var icx_publication_id = ‘14291’; var icx_copyright_notice = ‘2014 TheProgressiveInfluence’; //license.icopyright.net/rights/js/copyright-notice.js


Leave a Reply

